Infanterieanhänger IF-8

In Detail

One of the many non-motorised items of German wheeled transport in WWII was the Infantry Trailer IF-8. The initial specification for the IF-8 is unknown. The other armies of WWII had similar trailers, but in most of these armies they appeared to have been issued in the main to specialist troops; such as paratroopers and commandos, who by their very mode-of-operation would be lacking powered vehicles in any quantity. However, this is where the IF-8 differs as it was a widely used item throughout all the German ground forces and was also a very heavy when compared to these other specialist lightweight trailers. It also found used by German paratroopers but that was mainly because they were used as ground troops for most of the war after the battle for Crete in May 1941.

Become a Member - Access the Full Article

Members gain access to the full content of our articles, including photo galleries.

Explore Related Topics